CRAWFORD COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION

January Reorganizational Meeting Minutes Crawford County Public Safety Building, Meadville, Pennsylvania

Commissioner Dreese, Chair, called the Reorganizational Meeting of the Crawford County Planning Commission to order at 3:05 p.m. on January 23, 2022.

1. Roll Call:

Present -

Maria Dreese, Chair (outgoing) Jessica Hilburn Ron Mattocks, (via conference call) Austin Rock Scott Sjolander, Chair (incoming)

Absent – Travis Palmer

2. Public Comment

• Jonathan Brodak, a student from Allegheny, introduced himself. He will be completing an internship at the Planning Office this semester (Spring 2023). He stated that he is looking forward to being a part of the Comprehensive Plan process.

3. Reorganizational Meeting

- a. Discussion/Action Recommendation of 2022 CCPC Appointments
 - Planning Commission Appointments

Review of recommendations for Commission appointments from the December 2022 meeting. There was a question regarding if the Secretary and Treasurer positions could be combined. Mr. Norwood clarified that the positions could be combined only if the bylaws were amended to reflect that. Four appointments will still need to be filled. Commissioner Dreese recommended:

- 1. Commissioner Sjolander for the Chair appointment
- 2. Commissioner Mattocks for the Vice-Chair appointment
- 3. Commissioner Hilburn for the Secretary appointment
- 4. Commissioner Rock for the Treasurer appointment

All above Commissioners stated they would accept the nominations. Commissioner Dreese asked for a motion for the appointments. Commissioner Sjolander made a motion for Commissioner Sjolander for Chair, Commissioner Mattocks for Vice-Chair, Commissioner Hilburn for Secretary, and Commissioner Rock for Treasurer. Commissioner Rock seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

• Standing Committee Appointments

A discussion was had about placement of potential incoming Commission members and Commissioner Palmer, who was absent, on committees. Commissioner Dreese recommended the following for committee appointments:

- 1. Transportation Committee: No Chair nominated, Commissioner Dreese, Commissioner Mattocks, Commissioner Palmer
- 2. Agriculture and Environmental Concerns Committee: Commissioner Hilburn Chair, Commissioner Rock. Commissioner Sjolander

- **3.** Personnel Committee: Commissioner Rock Chair, Commissioner Palmer, Commissioner Dreese
- 4. Planning Initiative Committee: Commissioner Mattocks Chair, Commissioner Sjolander, Commissioner Hilburn

All above Commissioners stated they would accept the nominations. No motion required, only Chair approval. Commissioner Sjolander, newly appointed Chair, approved appointments to all Standing Committees.

- Adoption of Regular Meeting Dates
 - Commissioner Sjolander asked for a motion to accept the 2023 Regular Meeting dates presented by Mr. Norwood. Commissioner Dreese made a motion to entertain the dates as presented. Commissioner Hilburn seconded. Motion carried unanimously.
 - Mr. Norwood presented the meeting time and location for discussion. Discussion. Commissioner Sjolander asked for a motion. Commissioner Hilburn made a motion to keep the time and location the same (3:00pm held at the Crawford County Safety Building). Commissioner Dreese seconded. Motion carried unanimously.
 - Mr. Norwood asked if the Commission wanted to keep Work Sessions to immediately follow Regular Meetings. Commissioner Sjolander asked for a motion. Commissioner Hilburn made a motion to keep the Work Sessions immediately following the Regular Meetings. Commissioner Rock seconded. Motion carried unanimously.
 - 2024 Reorganizational Meeting Commissioner Sjolander asked for a motion to hold the 2024 Reorganizational Meeting on January 22, 2024 at 3:00pm in the current location, the Crawford County Public Safety Building. Commissioner Dreese made said motion. Commissioner Rock seconded. Motion carried unanimously.
- Commissioner Sjolander requested a motion for adjournment of the 2023 Reorganizational Meeting. Commissioner Rock moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Dreese seconded. The January 2023 Crawford County Planning Commission Reorganizational Meeting adjourned. The January 2023 Crawford County Planning Commission Regular Meeting to follow immediately.

Respectfully submitted,

Jessica Hilburn, Secretary Crawford County Planning Commission

cc: Crawford County Board of Commissioners Crawford County Planning Commission February 2023